Gluten Free Starter Guide and Tips
It is extremely important when first starting to eat Gluten Free (staying away from anything that contains Wheat, Barley or Rye) and heal your body try to stay away from processed GF prepackaged foods. There are some good ones out there, but be aware, Some of them maybe GF ingredients but they could be processed on the same lines as gluten containing ingredients. Some of them just out and out lie and slap that GF label on the package just to make money. It is illegal and several of them have been caught, but another one pops up all the time. So until you find the products that you can trust at first it is just safer to eat as clean as possible to begin with.
Fresh fruits and vegetables, Non- processed meats, etc.
Always wash fruits and vegetables with a white vinegar and warm water mixture, then rinse well.
Plain Milk and Dairy is Gluten Free, ( although some do have reactions to them, it may just take time to figure out what you react to.)
Be aware of Ice creams not all Ice cream is GF. You have to read labels.
Eggs are Gluten Free, ( I know some of this seems like a no brainer, but I have had people ask me these questions, and some people do react to eggs, my Mom is one of them, but it’s not because there is gluten in the eggs. We use Duck eggs and have no problems with them.)
Always, Always!!! READ LABELS!!! I don’t care if you’ve purchased that same brand or product before and it was GF. Food companies change ingredients all the time! I have found this out the hard way.
Be very aware of Cross Contamination! If you use the same pans, bowls, and cooking utensils to cook gluten foods then use them to cook GF foods. You WILL cross contaminate yourself. Stainless steel is great, because it can be washed in the dishwasher and clean it thoroughly. Plastic, rubber, and wooden bowls can have scratches or cuts in them which will hold on to gluten.
Toasters are a big source of Cross Contamination! If your household is not going totally GF, then you need to have a separate toaster only for GF foods.
Hand towels, hot pad holders, anything with a soft or porous surface will hold gluten. I usually use paper towels to dry my hands. Just in case someone comes in with Gluten on their hands and doesn’t get it all off, then wipes it on the towel.
Also be aware of Soaps, Shampoos, Toothpaste, Shaving lotions, etc. Some of them do contain gluten.
Oh and this is something that you just don’t think about until it happens to you. Someone else driving your car and eating gluten then getting it on your steering wheel. People just don’t think about it. So I’m constantly cleaning my steering wheel, since we have teenage drivers around now.
Be aware of Spices, some of them are the real deal and only contain the spice that’s in the jar. Some of them are not, they add fillers. There are some brands that are pure spices.
Be aware of cellulose. Not all cellulose is GF. Some of it is made from Wheat and Barley Straw which does contain gluten.